Sunday, February 18, 2018

Album Review of The Big Ol’ Nasty Getdown’s Volume 2

The Big Ol’ Nasty Getdown are back and funkier than ever. The behemoth funk collective dropped their much-anticipated second album, Volume 2, last month. It’s a stellar follow-up to the Getdown’s critically acclaimed debut album, Volume 1 (2012). The collection is filled with powerhouse grooves, impeccable musicianship and tons of funk. And like its predecessor, Volume 2 boasts an amazing lineup of top musical talent, including Fred Wesley (James Brown, Horny Horns), Vernon Reid (Living Colour), Taylor Dayne, Norwood Fisher (Fishbone, Trulio Disgracias), Larry Dunn (Earth, Wind & Fire), Karl Denson (the Rolling Stones, Lenny Kravitz) and members from the following bands: Parliament-Funkadelic, Graham Central Station, Kool & the Gang, the Funky Meters, Yo Mama’s Big Fat Booty Band, The Time, Dumpstaphunk, Mandrill and Bootsy’s Rubber Band, among many others. In all, more than 50 musicians from 18 bands contributed their talents to this album.

Volume 2 kicks off with the exuberant funk track “Rock It,” which features Speech from famed hip-hop group Arrested Development on vocals. This song has a lively, upbeat flow with tight horns, infectious guitar licks and a funkalicous trombone solo from horn legend Fred Wesley. And Larry Dunn brings some of his keyboard wizardry to the mix with some fantastic synth work.  Also, Speech’s energetic vocals help enhance the track’s fun, party vibe.“Rock It” is followed by the marvelous “Love Somebody.” Acclaimed singer-songwriter Laura Reed elevates the song with her exquisite vocals.

RonKat Spearman (Katdelic, P-Funk All Stars) delivers a dynamic vocal performance on the sizzling, high-powered funk jam “Groovy Nasty.” Jamar Woods (The Fritz) serves up a blistering organ solo while Ryan Martinie (Mudvayne) lays down some wicked bass. Additionally, the funk is augmented by blazing horn volleys from sax man Greg Hollowell (Yo Mama’s Big Fat Booty Band); trumpeter Michael Ray (Kool & the Gang, Sun Ra Arkestra); and trombone players Clifford Adams (Kool & the Gang) and Derrick Johnson (Yo Mama’s Big Fat Booty Band).

One of the album’s biggest highlights is the stunning “Mantra.” This jazz-laced soul gem features Grammy-winning songstress Kendra Foster (P-Funk, D’Angelo’s The Vanguard) and Speech on vocals. Foster serves up a mesmerizing vocal performance, and Speech is at the top of his game here, delivering his rap verses in a powerful, captivating fashion. Bassist extraordinaire Norwood Fisher holds down the bottom with his usual funky finesse. And the horn lines on this track are pure fire.

Laura Reed returns with more vocal magic on the lovely ballad “Word.” The track boasts some sterling flute work by Karl Denson.  It’s followed by the superb “Dream,” which features renowned singer Taylor Dayne, whose vocal skills are as impressive as ever.

The Getdown turn up the funk again on the hard-hitting fusion groove “Past, Present, Future.” The epic jam features some dazzling fretboard work from legendary guitarist Leo Nocentelli (co-founder of the Meters). Also, Mike Dillon (Mike Dillon Band, Primus) kills it on the vibes.

Fishbone’s frontman Angelo Moore and guitar virtuoso Vernon Reid are featured on the deep funk groove “Creatures of Habit.” Moore turns in a spirited vocal performance, and Reid tears it up with a scorching solo.

Rev. Desmond D'Angelo (The Soular System) provides the soulful lead vocals on the irresistible “B4u Loved Me.”

The Getdown brought it again on Volume 2, which is a superb collection soul, funk and R&B tracks. Those who enjoyed the Getdown’s first album definitely won’t be disappointed with this offering.

The Big Ol’ Nasty Getdown is an ambitious project that bassist/producer John Heintz (Trulio Disgracias) conceived in 2007. The Getdown was created to celebrate funk music and its massive impact on contemporary music and culture. With the help of Yo Mama’s Big Fat Booty Band members Derrick Johnson and John-Paul Miller, Heintz assembled a group of some the baddest players on the planet in New Orleans for the Getdown’s first jam session in December 2007.

The epic session set the project in motion in a big way. The Getdown continued to expand, recruiting more talented musicians along the way. The funk supergroup released their debut album, Volume 1, in 2012, which received high praise across the funk, soul and R&B communities.

To learn more about the Getdown, visit their website or Facebook page.

"Rock It"


Related blog entry: The Big Ol' Nasty Getdown Pays Tribute To Funk Music

No comments: